Ask a Teacher

varna system

A varna is one of the four broad ranks into which traditional Hindu society is divided, according to the Brahmins and their sacred texts. This quadruple division is not to be confused with J?ti or even the much finer division of the contemporary caste system in India. varna's are

    the Brahmins: vedic priests.
    the Kshatriya: kings, governors and soldiers.
    the Vaishyas: cattle herders, agriculturists, artisans and merchants.
    the Shudras: labourers and service providers.

The first three varna are considered Arya, and thus allowed to participate in Vedica rituals from which the non-Arya Shudra varna is excluded.

comments powered by Disqus